評論

Duolingo與Rosetta Stone –哪個是更好的語言學習應用程序?

Cocospy電話間諜CocoSpy電話間諜

學習一種新語言具有許多心理和社會益處。 如今,越來越多的人開始轉向通過應用程序或其他軟件學習新語言,並且湧現出了大量的語言學習應用程序。 最受歡迎的兩個是Duolingo和Rosetta Stone。 您一定遇到過這些應用程序,但是選擇一個應用程序比說一個容易做起來難。

在本文中,我們將一個應用程序與另一個應用程序進行了對比,並重點說明了使它們與其他應用程序脫穎而出的原因。 我們將研究它們的功能,價格,它們提供的語言學習方法,它們的優缺點以及它們的交互功能。 在戰鬥中 Duolingo羅塞塔石碑,我們將最終選擇一名獲勝者,並說明影響我們決策的因素。

PS:要了解更多不同的語言學習應用程序,以下是其他已完成的比較供您參考: 巴貝爾vs.多林戈Memrise對陣Duolingo,以及作為 巴貝爾vs羅塞塔·斯通.


分解多林戈vs羅塞塔·斯通

Duolingo

作為一種免費的,具有語言學習功能的移動應用程序,Duolingo於2011年推出。下載量超過110億,它已迅速成為全球頂級應用程序之一。 使用Duolingo的許多用戶都是初學者,他們都希望嘗試新語言。 它的語言學習遊戲化方法,再加上它是一個免費應用程序,使它在語言學習者中頗受歡迎。

羅塞塔石碑

羅塞塔·斯通(Rosetta Stone)以埃及象形文字的名字命名,成立於1992年,提供多種語言供您學習。 在Duolingo與Rosetta Stone的戰鬥中,很明顯,後者為學習新語言提供了一種更為傳統的方法,並且比Duolingo少了遊戲性。 但是,該應用程序確實具有研究支持的學習新語言的方法。


Duolingo如何運作

選擇語言並確定您的技能

在開始之前,Duolingo允許您進行能力測試以評估您的語言技能,然後再開始。 該測試是可選的,因此不需要初學者參加。

學習基本單詞

對於初學者,Duolingo將開始教授您必須知道的基本單詞,例如“男孩”,“女孩”,“出租車”等。 如果您想用新語言進行對話,則必須首先掌握基礎知識。 這是最基本的方法,對這些詞的明確命令以後會真正使您受益。

根據學習速度的不同,您可能需要花幾個小時或幾天來掌握基礎知識,然後再上更高的水平。 Duolingo敦促您獲得徽章並隨著您的進步而升級,從而保持您的參與度。 這是一個重要的加分點,顯然可以使多鄰國在我們對多鄰國與羅塞塔·斯通的戰鬥中佔據優勢。

高級語言課程

一旦掌握了新語言的基本詞彙,您就可以開始升級。 高級課程將包括直接翻譯單詞,形成完整的句子等等。 在您被迫重新開始課程之前,您只有三個生命。 在學習高級課程時,基礎知識將派上用場。

完成課程並繼續

如前所述,Duolingo通過允許您升級並在學習過程中獲得徽章而將學習語言遊戲化。 徽章種類繁多,您將花費很多年才能獲得所有徽章。

這是否意味著如果您獲得所有徽章,就會精通該語言? 可能不會。

通過應用程序學習語言與通過與母語使用者的交談學習非常不同。 當然,您將學習基礎知識並掌握詞彙和語法,但是如果您的目標是學習語言以便與母語人士說自信,則該應用程序有其局限性。 從這個意義上講,Duolingo對Rosetta Stone的爭奪沒有明確的勝利者。


Rosetta Stone如何工作

探索演示

比較Duolingo和Rosetta Stone時,會立即彈出一件事。 Duolingo是免費的,而Rosetta Stone是付費服務。 兩者都要求您先註冊,然後再開始探索其功能。 但是,Rosetta Stone確實提供了一個非常交互式的演示,使您可以對前幾節課進行一番了解,並了解該軟件所提供的功能。

選擇產品

Rosetta Stone提供兩種不同的產品-可下載的CD版本和在線訂閱。 在這兩者中,在線訂閱相對較新。 每個都有優點和缺點。 取消後,在線訂閱將過期。 可下載的CD版本最多可為5個用戶提供該軟件,您可以永久保留許可證。 但是,他們的移動應用和遊戲僅三個月有效。

升級到價格計劃

如果決定選擇訂閱,則有四個可用選項-3個月,12個月,24個月和12個月。 如果您決定選擇24個月或XNUMX個月選項,則可享受大量折扣。


Duolingo與Rosetta Stone商業模式

考慮價格時,兩個應用程序相距甚遠。 Duolingo是一項免費增值服務,而Rosetta Stone要求您在開始使用該訂閱之前先購買該訂閱。 已經提到了Rosetta Stone的訂閱二級定價模型。 對於CD-Rom,價格細分如下:

  • 一級為179美元
  • 279美元(兩個級別)
  • 三個級別$ 379
  • 所有五個級別的費用為$ 479

另一方面,Duolingo提供了截然不同的商業模式。 Duolingo能夠將用戶製作的應用程序的翻譯版本出售給公司和教育機構。 近年來,Duolingo嘗試了多種商業模式,其中一些如下:

  • 學習新語言的認證
  • 高級訂閱
  • 廣告(公司)

現在說出Duolingo將真正關注這些選項中的哪一個還為時過早。 但是就目前而言,就價格而言,前者顯然贏得了多林戈與羅塞塔·斯通的戰鬥。


作為補充服務

當談到語言技能時,Duolingo和Rosetta Stone都希望幫助個人更好地掌握語法並增加詞彙量。 但是,在進行實時對話時,兩者都沒有特別的幫助。 我們建議用戶除了與專業導師合作之外,還使用這些應用。

真正的教室實際上在外面,您可以在這裡與當地人互動並從錯誤中學習。 通過應用程序學習不是學習語言的一站式解決方案。 願意承擔在社交環境中學習新語言所帶來的尷尬的人們往往學習最快。


方法的基本差異

在我們宣布多林哥與羅塞塔·斯通之戰的勝利者之前,讓我們首先總結一下這兩個應用程序的不同之處。 Rosetta Stone旨在提供一種身臨其境的學習體驗,使您可以建立技能,並通過聽力和鍛煉來要求您匹配圖像。 他們為此使用了最先進的TruAccent語音識別技術。

另一方面,Duolingo提供了一種語法密集型的學習方法,其中不同級別的遊戲化學習要求您填補空白並隨著學習的進行而學習。

這兩個應用程序還存在其他一些問題,需要注意。 儘管Duolingo提供了遊戲化的學習語言的體驗,但用戶仍抱怨其用戶界面看起來像是充滿卡通效果和幼稚聲音的兒童玩具。 這可能導致學習的幼稚化。 評論家有時甚至會說這提供了一種錯誤的進步感,而用戶實際上並沒有學到很多東西。

另一方面,羅塞塔·斯通(Rosetta Stone)被批評為“夠有趣。” 也有人批評它沒有提供明確的語法說明。 但是,我們認為這實際上是一個加分點。 學習新語言不需要您明確地了解語法。

如果您給它足夠的時間並且在學習中勤奮工作,那麼您最終將開始連接各個點。 語言理解需要時間,用戶的實際工作和獲得便宜的獎勵,即時滿足並不能代替實際學習。


內容不當

為了獲得Duolingo對Rosetta Stone的明確贏家,我們還看了這兩個應用程序提供的一些令人討厭的內容。 Duolingo有時會提供非常奇怪的對話翻譯。 對話翻譯的一些最奇怪的例子包括:

“帶貓去吧。”
“房子裡有一頭牛。”
“為什麼我的腳不聽我的話?”

儘管這些句子不一定會經常出現,但Duolingo確實需要您不時翻譯這些荒謬的句子。

另一方面,Rosetta Stone有時會提供文化上不合適的內容。 這可能取決於您嘗試學習的語言。 例如,它可以從美國環境中獲取圖像,並將其應用於完全不同的語言和場景。 除非您意識到將一種文化與另一種文化區分開的細微差別,否則這似乎不是一個主要問題。


獲勝者是...

比較這兩個應用程序就像比較蘋果和橘子。 它們的教學方法差異很大,定價也不同。 但是,我們可以清楚地判斷和決定一些相似之處。

從價格到價值的角度來看Duolingo與Rosetta Stone之戰,顯而易見的贏家是Duolingo。 兩種應用程序都提供相同的功能-學習和理解基本的詞彙和語法。 因此,免費應用無疑是更好的。 儘管如此,Rosetta Stone確實提供了經過大量研究的解決方案,以了解學習新語言的基本要素。 考慮到他們在課程上投入了多少時間和精力,值得一試。

從用戶的角度測試這兩個應用程序是很成問題的。 但鑑於服務大致相同,Duolingo是免費的,而Rosetta Stone要求您預先付款,因此最終的贏家是Duolingo。


Duolingo與Rosetta Stone的替代品

在本文中,我們介紹了兩個應用程序之間的區別,並介紹了它們的主要優缺點。 但是它們都沒有提供用於提高溝通技巧的獨特解決方案,也沒有使您與以英語為母語的人聊天並實時獲得反饋。

如果您希望基本了解該語言以及如何構成句子,那麼這兩個應用程序可能會起作用。 但是,使用替代應用程序,您可以開發各種技能,例如:

  • 與母語人士建立友誼和建立關係
  • 在國外找到新的工作機會
  • 充滿信心地出國旅行

一個這樣的替代應用稱為 雷普.


用Rype記錄時間學習新語言

學習一種新語言需要時間。 最新科學研究證明,人腦保留了……

  • 講座內容的5%;
  • 閱讀內容的10%;
  • 通過視聽獲得20%的內容(Duolingo與Rosetta Stone);
  • 展示內容的30%;
  • 參加小組討論時,內容的50%;
  • 通過練習達到內容的75%;
  • 教別人時90%的內容。

Rype允許用戶通過教別人來練習所學到的知識,這是保留信息的最佳方法。 具體來說, 雷普 是Duolingo或Rosetta Stone的4.5倍。


Duolingo與Rosetta Stone的底線

Duolingo羅塞塔石碑 辯論中,很難得出明確的結論。 這兩個應用程序提供了不同的學習方法,並且充斥著各自方法獨有的問題。 但是,在類似的觀點上,毫無疑問,多林戈成為贏家。 儘管這兩個應用程序都不能代替現實生活中的學習,但它們可以用作輔助學習材料。

重申一下,學習一種新語言需要花費時間和精力,而專業的語言輔導員應該是您的主要教育資源。 還有其他類似的應用 雷普 確實提供了額外的資源,但是它們也不足以教您一種新的語言。


標籤

相關文章

關閉

iStarsoft
Review, Tips & Tricks

Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone – Which is the Better Language Learning App?

0 53

Learning a new language has many mental and social benefits. Nowadays, more and more people are shifting to learning new languages via apps or other software, and a plethora of language-learning apps have come up. The two most popular ones are Duolingo and Rosetta Stone. You must have come across these apps but choosing one over the other is easier said than done.

In this article, we pit one app against another and highlight what makes them stand apart from other apps. We shall take a look at their features, their price, the language-learning methods that they offer, their pros and cons, and their interactive features. In the battle of Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone, we will ultimately choose a winner and illustrate the factors that have influenced our decision.

PS: to know more different language learning apps, here are other completed comparions for your reference: Babbel vs. Duolingo, and Memrise vs. Duolingo, as well as the Babbel vs Rosetta Stone.


Breaking down Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone

Duolingo

As a free, language-learning mobile app, Duolingo was launched in 2011. With over 110 million downloads, it has quickly emerged as one of the top apps in the world. Many of the users who use Duolingo are beginner language learners and hobbyists who are looking to get a taste of the new language. Its gamified approach to language learning, coupled with the fact that it is a free app, has made it quite popular among language learners.

Rosetta Stone

Named after the Egyptian hieroglyphics, Rosetta Stone was founded in 1992 and offered a wide array of languages to learn from. In the Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone battle, it is clear that the latter offers a more traditional approach to learning new languages and is less gamified than Duolingo. However, the app does boast of a research-backed method of learning new languages.


How Duolingo works

Select the language and determine your skills

Before you get started, Duolingo allows you to take a proficiency test to get gauge your language skills before you start. This test is optional, and so beginners are not required to take it.

Learning basic words

For beginners, Duolingo will start teaching basic words that you must know, such as ‘boy,’ ‘girl,’ ‘taxi,’ and so on. If you want to engage in conversations in the new language, it is essential that you get the basics covered first. This is as basic as it can get, and a firm command on these words will really benefit you later on.

Depending on the learning speed, you are likely to spend a few hours or days in mastering the basics before moving on to higher levels. Duolingo keeps you engaged by urging you to earn badges and leveling up as you progress. This is a major plus point that clearly gives Duolingo an advantage in our battle of Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone.

Advanced language lessons

You will begin leveling up once you gain command over the basic vocabulary of the new language. The advanced lessons will include translating words directly, forming full sentences, and much more. You only have three lives before you are forced to restart the lesson. The basics will come in handy when going through advanced lessons.

Complete the lesson and keep going

As mentioned earlier, Duolingo gamifies the process of learning a language by allowing you to level up and earn badges as you progress. There are an endless amount of badges, and you will be spending a lot of years earning all of them.

Does that mean that you will be fluent in the language if you earn all the badges? Probably not.

Learning a language via an app is very different from learning by conversing with a native speaker. Of course, you will learn the basics and get a decent grasp on vocabulary and grammar, but if your aim is to learn the language in order to speak confidently with native speakers, the app has its limits. In that sense, the Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone battle does not have a clear winner.


How Rosetta Stone works

Explore the demo

When comparing Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone, one thing pops out immediately. Duolingo is free, while Rosetta Stone is a paid service. Both will require you to sign up before you start exploring its features. However, Rosetta Stone does offer a very interactive demo that allows you to give the first few lessons a shot and understand what the software has to offer.

Choose the product

Rosetta Stone provides two different products – a downloadable CD version and an online subscription. Of the two, the online subscription is relatively new. There are pros and cons to each. The online subscription expires once you cancel. The downloadable CD version offers the software for up to 5 users, and you get to keep the license forever. However, their mobile app and games are valid for only three months.

Upgrade to a price plan

If you decide to choose the subscription, there are four options available – 3 months, six months, 12 months, and 24 months. Significant discounts are available if you decide to choose the 12 or 24 months option.


Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone Business Model

When you consider the price, the two apps are poles apart. Duolingo is a freemium service, while Rosetta Stone requires you to buy the subscription before you start using it. The secondary pricing model of Rosetta Stone for subscription is already mentioned. For CD-Rom, the pricing is broken down as follows:

  • $179 for one level
  • $279 for two levels
  • $379 for three levels
  • $479 for all five levels

On the other hand, Duolingo offers a very different business model. Duolingo has been able to sell the translated versions of the app made by users to corporations and educational institutes. In recent years, Duolingo has experimented with multiple business models, some of which are as follows:

  • Certifications for learning new languages
  • Premium subscriptions
  • Advertisements (for corporations)

It is still too early to tell which of these options Duolingo will really focus on. But for the time being, as long as the price is concerned, the battle of Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone is clearly won by the former.


As complementary services

When it comes to focusing on language skills, both Duolingo and Rosetta Stone look to help individuals get a better grasp of grammar and to increase their vocabulary. But when it comes to practicing real-time conversations, neither is especially helpful. We recommend the users use these apps in addition to working with a professional tutor.

The real classroom is actually outside where you can interact with natives and learn through mistakes. Learning through apps is not a one-stop solution to learning languages. People who are willing to take the embarrassments that go along with learning new languages in a social context tend to learn the fastest.


Basic differences in method

Before we declare a winner to our Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone battle, let us first summarize how these two apps differ. Rosetta Stone aims to provide an immersive learning experience that allows you to build skills and through listening and exercises that require you to match images. They use their state-of-the-art TruAccent speech recognition technology for this.

On the other hand, Duolingo provides a grammar-intensive learning approach where the different levels of gamified learning require you to fill in the blanks and learn as you advance.

There are some other problems with both apps that need to be noted. Although Duolingo offers a gamified experience to learning languages, users have complained that its user-interface looks like a child’s toy that is full of cartoonish awards and childish sounds. This can lead to an infantilization of learning. Critics sometimes go as far as to say that it provides a false sense of progression and that users actually don’t learn much.

On the other hand, Rosetta Stone is criticized for not being “fun enough.” It is also criticized for not providing explicit instructions for grammar. However, we believe that this is actually a plus point. Learning a new language doesn’t require you to know the grammar explicitly.

If you give it enough time and are diligent in your learning, you will ultimately begin to connect the dots. Language comprehension takes time, and actual work on the part of the user and cheap awards, and instant gratification are no substitutes for actual learning.


Improper content

To get a clear winner for Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone, we also take a look at some of the jarring content that these two apps offer. Duolingo sometimes provides quite bizarre dialogue translations. Some of the weirdest examples of dialogue translation include the following –

“Take the cat and go right.”
“There is a cow in the house.”
“Why won’t my feet listen to me?”

Although these sentences don’t necessarily come up frequently, Duolingo does require you to translate such absurd sentences from time to time.

On the other hand, Rosetta Stone sometimes offers content that is culturally inappropriate. This may depend on the language you are trying to learn. For example, it may take an image from an American context and apply it to a totally different language and scenario. This may not seem like a major problem unless you are aware of the fine nuances that differentiate one culture from another.


And the winner is…

Comparing the two apps is like comparing apples and oranges. They differ greatly in their teaching methods and are priced differently. However, there are a few similarities on which we can judge and decide clearly.

Looking at the Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone battle from a price to value perspective, the clear winner is Duolingo. Both the apps offer the same function – to learn and understand the basic vocabulary and grammar. Thus, the free app is undoubtedly better. Still, Rosetta Stone does offer a heavily researched solution to understanding the nuts and bolts of learning a new language. Given how much time and effort they have invested in their curriculum, it is worth checking out.

It is quite problematic to test out both apps from a user’s perspective. But given that the services are largely similar and Duolingo is free while Rosetta Stone requires you to pay upfront, the final winner is Duolingo.


Alternative to Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone

In this article, we have gone through the differences between the two apps, and also covered their major pros and cons. But neither of them offers a distinct solution for improving communication skills, nor do they allow you to chat with native speakers and get feedback in real-time.

If you are looking to get a basic understanding of the language and how to form sentences, then the two apps may work. However, with alternative apps, there are a wide variety of skills that you can develop, such as:

  • Building friendships and relationships with native speakers
  • Find new job opportunities in foreign countries
  • Travel foreign countries with confidence

One such alternative app is called Rype.


Learn new languages in record time with Rype

Learning a new language takes time. Latest scientific research proves that the human brain retains…

  • 5% of the content in a lecture;
  • 10% of the content by reading;
  • 20% of the content through audio-visuals (Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone);
  • 30% of the content when demonstrated;
  • 50% of the content when engaging in group discussions;
  • 75% of the content through practice;
  • 90% of the content while teaching someone else.

Rype allows users to practice what they have learned by teaching others – which is the best way of retaining information. Specifically, the learning method used by Rype is 4.5 times better than that of Duolingo or Rosetta Stone.


Bottom-line of Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone

In the Duolingo vs. Rosetta Stone debate, it is quite hard to come to a definitive conclusion. The two apps offer different methods of learning and are rife with problems that are unique to their own methods. However, on the points that are similar, it is undoubtedly clear that Duolingo emerges as the winner. Although neither of the apps is a substitute for real-life learning, these can be used as complementary learning material.

To reiterate, learning a new language takes time and constant effort, and a professional language tutor should be your primary source of education. There are other apps like Rype that do offer additional resources, but they too do not suffice alone in teaching you a new language.

 

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More